TGIF?!

So here it is Friday and I’m just exhausted from the week. My oldest daughter Makayla turned a whole hand on Wednesday and we spent the day at a huge play place for her birthday just the family. They had a blast so much so that the ride back was tears from being exhausted. We got home with the birthday girl asking where were all of her presents haha. Oh how that little big girl knows how to work mom and dad 🙂

4Happy Birthday Miss Makayla

Still sticking to Insanity and doing pretty well with it. My legs are starting to feel like jello and my abs are being used more than I ever thought they would haha. But I am enjoying it for the most part. My biggest frustration is fighting off the puppy from attacking me while I’m doing my mummy kicks. Guess he thinks its time to play! But hey I completed day 9 yesterday and on day 10 today! That’s some big steps!!! WOOHOO

So these past couple of days I’ve made some pretty kick ass meals that I will totally be added to my meal lists for each month. Not only are they tasty but they are super easy to make!

1
Santa Fe Chicken. 4point meal for 1 cup chicken and mixing.
Now this meal is from Skinny Taste. Now the corn and beans were spicy a little to spicy for the kiddos but the chicken wasn’t and they ate that and the rice faster then I could keep it on their plate. The best part of this meal was that it cooked in the crock-pot so I didn’t have to do much work!
Ingredients:

  • 24 oz (1 1/2) lbs chicken breast
  • 14.4 oz can diced tomatoes with mild green chilies
  • 15 oz can black beans
  • 8 oz frozen corn
  • 1/4 cup chopped fresh cilantro
  • 14.4 oz can fat free chicken broth
  • 3 scallions, chopped
  • 1 tsp garlic powder
  • 1 tsp onion powder
  • 1 tsp cumin
  • 1 tsp cayenne pepper (to taste)
  • salt to taste

Directions:
Combine chicken broth, beans, corn, tomatoes, cilantro, scallions, garlic powder, onion powder, cumin, cayenne pepper and salt in the crock pot. Season chicken breast with salt and lay on top.
Cook on low for 10 hours or on high for 6 hours. Half hour before serving, remove chicken and shred. Return chicken to slow cooker and stir in. Adjust salt and seasoning to taste. Serve over rice or tortillas and your favorite toppings.

3
Chipotle Chicken Salad. 5points for 2 cups

Now this simple meal is great for a lunch. Make it the night before and have it ready for the next day! It was really good but my goodness was it spicy. Next time I make it I wont add as much cilantro since I’m not the biggest fan and instead of the chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce I may just put in diced green chili’s. But if you like the kick I say try it and love it! Nice change up on salad.

Ingredients

Dressing
1/3 cup chopped fresh cilantro
2/3 cup fat free sour cream
1 tablespoon minced chipotle chile, canned in adobo sauce
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
4 teaspoons fresh lime juice
1/4 teaspoon salt
Salad
4 cups shredded romaine lettuce
2 cups chopped roasted skinless, boneless chicken breasts (about 2 breasts)
1 cup cherry tomatoes, halved
1/2 cup diced peeled avocado
1/3 cup thinly vertically sliced red onion
1 (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
1 (8 3/4-ounce) can no-salt-added whole-kernel corn, rinsed and drained
Instructions
To prepare dressing, combine first 7 ingredients, stirring well.
To prepare salad, combine lettuce and remaining ingredients in a large bowl. Drizzle dressing over salad; toss gently to coat. Serve immediately.

Hope those that are following my blog enjoy it so far! Leave me a comment if you do I would love to hear from you! ❤
One thought on “TGIF?!

  1. Loving the recipes. I will have to check them out and try them. I think you’ve also inspired me to maybe start my own blog/recipe thing!

    Like

Leave a Reply

