Its Tuesday….Monday’s slightly better twin

Here we are Tuesday the week barely starting and I’m tired. That might be due to the fact that I busted out three games of field hockey last night and did a LOT of running. So I was even over my fitbit step goal by 10k lol. That in itself is a feat for me being a stay at home mom that doesn’t leave the house since its winter (it will HOPEFULLY change when it becomes nice out for those few months of New England “summer”). I try to hit my mark of 10k a day and sometimes I make it sometimes I don’t depending on how much running around I do.

So I decided to keep myself motivated to keeping healthy and fit I was going to sign myself up for a couple races this year. The first one my friend Amy practically threatened me with our friendship to join her in an event called Mudderella…now if you don’t know what this fun stuff is all about (ha fun more like torture to a girl that hasn’t done anything this intense since Susan Murray preseason freshman year of college) its a 5-7 mile long obstacle courses designed by women, for women. And us women know how other woman can be….sneaky and a pain in the ass….right? The proceeds of this obstacle course go to a Charity by the name of Future’s Without Violence, which is a national nonprofit dedicated to ending domestic violence (feel free to check it out and if you want to donate to a good cause and support me then click this link and help! https://www.eventbrite.com/donate/extra-dirty-martinis-jessica-paul/548729?sig=AA5leUqXnUuWRmchDUKl5USX7GIvo2KkDg But really I think it will be a lot of fun and will totally worth it. Thankfully its not until Sept 6th so I have 6 months to get myself prepared! Oh and the best part about it…our team name….Extra Dirty Martinis.

I also have signed myself up to run the Color Me Rad 5k in May. Figured if I’m going to run then I want to have some fun while doing so. I’ve wanted to do this run for the past couple of years and last year I signed up but my husband had to work and I had no babysitter so it got tossed out. I was very sad but this year I’m determined and the best part…Its my husbands day off so now I have no excuse to not go and get colored! If you are knew to the running scene I HIGHLY suggest you check out C25K program! It will slowly get your ready to run a 3 miler in 8 weeks. I’ve done it a couple of times now and will do it again to get ready for the color me rad run. Its pretty motivating and anyone can do it. Download a free version right to your phone and get your head phones and you are off and running! Check it out

So today was my off day from Insanity (thank goodness because I don’t think my body can handle doing to much today). Tomorrow is the fit test and I’m kinda excited to see if I’ve made progress fit wise. I have noticed I’ve lost some inches (no weight yet but that will come soon I hope). My regular pants are to big around the waist now that they kept falling down while walking and driving me nuts.

6
SO I finally decided to try on a pair of pants I bought before I got pregnant with the twins that I hadn’t even taken the tag off of yet. I put them on and it was amazing! THEY FIT! I am down a pant size and it only took 4 years! woohoo lol. And they fit my waist, butt AND thighs! My thighs and butt have always made me have one size bigger pants then what I really need for my waist. But not today! PROGRESS!!! Insanity works people! and so does Weight Watchers! Totally kickin ass and taking names 😉

FOOD:

So tonight I made a great and yummy dinner thanks to wonderful recipes from the amazing Emily Bites blog! Always looking for great meals and I stumbled upon her awesome blog! I’ve had a craving for a cheeseburger ever since I started WW but I really couldn’t find one without it being not good enough or to many points. Well her Bacon Cheeseburger Wrap Recipe was amazing! I did change out a couple of things to suit my needs but check it out. Oh and I used her Oven Fry recipe that tastes JUST like Fair Fries! The total meal was 12 points. Which is kinda high compared to my normal but it was filling and there was a lot to it. (I will line out what I changed and bold what I added instead)
5

Bacon Cheeseburger Wraps

Yield: 4 wraps

Ingredients:

  • 1 lb 95% lean ground beef (raw weight)
  • 1 T McCormick Hamburger Seasoning
  • 4 Laughing Cow Light Queso Fresco & Chipotle Wedges, cut into pieces (2 laughing cow light Queso Fresco & Chipotle Wedges and 2 Light Mozzarella, Sun-Dried Tomato and Basil)
  • 2 T Ketchup
  • 2 t Yellow Mustard
  • 1/3 cup 2% shredded sharp cheddar cheese (1/3 cup WW Shredded Mexican Style Blend Cheese)
  • 2 T Hormel Real Bacon Bits
  • 4 light original Flatouts 
  • ½ a medium tomato, cut into pieces
  • 1 – 1 ½ cups shredded lettuce
  • red onion cut into pieces
  1. Bring a large skillet to medium heat. Add the ground beef and hamburger seasoning and cook until meat is browned. Drain meat. Clean skillet and set aside.
  2. Place meat in a medium bowl and add the cheese wedges, ketchup, mustard, cheddar and bacon bits. Stir to combine. Microwave on high for one minute. Stir again until meat is evenly coated.
  3. Spoon a quarter of the meat mixture (around a generous ½ cup) onto the center of each flatout and spread the mixture lengthwise, leaving about an inch at each end. Evenly distribute the shredded lettuce and tomato pieces across the top of the meat. Fold in the 1” ends of the flatout over the filling and then fold in the long ends to cover it.
  4. Lightly mist the large skillet with cooking spray and bring over medium-low heat. Place the wraps fold-side down onto the skillet (I did them in batches of two) and let them cook for 3-4 minutes or until golden. Flip the wraps and continue to cook until golden on the bottom. Cut in half and serve.

FRIES:

  • 22 oz (about 3 medium) russet potatoes, peeled and cut into ¼-½” sticks
  • 1 ½ tablespoons canola oil
  • ½ teaspoon salt
  1. Preheat the oven to 475. Mist a large baking sheet with cooking spray and set aside.
  2. Place the potato sticks in a large mixing bowl and fill the bowl with hot water. Let the potatoes soak for 10-30 minutes. Drain the water and spread the potato sticks out in a single layer on a kitchen towel or layered paper towels. Using another towel, pat the potatoes dry. Transfer the potato sticks to a large Ziploc bag and drizzle with the oil. Seal the bag and shake/massage the potatoes until well coated. Open the bag and add the salt. Seal and shake again until salt is well distributed.
  3. Spread the salted potatoes in a single layer on the prepared baking sheet and cover the pan tightly with aluminum foil. Bake for 5 minutes and remove the foil covering. Return the potatoes to the oven and continue to bake for 15-25 minutes or until the bottoms are golden. Remove the tray from the oven and flip the potatoes over using a spatula. Place the potatoes back in the oven (rotate the pan as well so that your potatoes will cook evenly) and cook for another 5-15 minutes until golden. Season with additional salt to taste if desired. Serve warm.
Leave a Reply

