Monthly Update Month 2

0ba47b98f9f25e73163d4c13bd813491

So last week was non stop for me. I felt like I couldn’t keep up and there weren’t enough hours in the day to get everything I wanted done. I also started last week my road to the 5k. My first one is May 31st. The Color Me Rad run, hoping to kick start my running season off with a fun one lol. So I decided to start on week two of the C25K program and it seemed to work really well for me.

run1 run2
Not a bad start if I do say say myself! Can’t wait to see my Average Run Pace by week 8.

My husband has started to get the healthy kick bug. After eating my dinners he’s lost some weight and he’s liking how he is feeling so he is now going to the gym with one of his friends every morning. Great for him since he’s never been someone who works out. He never had to well working on cars but now that he’s behind the counter he’s lost those muscles he had and its making him frustrated lol.

Oh and guess what!!! I’m down another 2.2 lbs this week!!!! Getting so stinkin close to being under 220! I really hate that number so of course I want to NEVER see it again! I’m down 8.1lbs from I started. I WILL get there I WILL get to my goal.
10152751_459640164166745_1640040365_n
1 Month Measurements: (change from first month)

Weight: 223.2 (-8.1)Stomach: 40inches (-2)
Waist: 41inches (-4)
Boobs McGee: 41inches (-1)
Chest: 38 inches (-1)
Arms: 14inches (0)
Thighs: 25inches (-2)
Calves: 17.5inches (-1.5)

Not to bad on the measurements! I knew I was down and I’m glad I dropped inches on the areas I desperately needed it. So glad things FINALLY seem to be working!

RECIPES

Clockwise starting from the top left: Spaghetti and Meatball Soup, Brown Sugar Salmon with Sweet Potato and veggies, Turkey Sandwich with spinach, tomato, sprouts, turkey slices and pickle with Popcorn, Easy Skillet Lasagna with salad.
soup 5 salmon 8   lunch 4 lasagna 9

Spaghetti and Meatball soup: from SkinnyTaste (I added a couple spices to it to give it more flavor in bold is what I added) (5PP)
For the soup:

5 cups low sodium, fat-free chicken broth
2 cups water
2 chopped cloves garlic, divided (4 garlic cloves)
4 tbsp chopped fresh parsley, divided
1 tbsp thyme
1 tbsp Italian seasoning
1/2 onion, chopped, divided
3-4 tbsp tomato sauce
pinch crushed red pepper flakes (optional) (I like spice so I added about 1-1.5 tsp)
kosher salt and fresh pepper
6 oz dry cut up spaghetti

For the meatballs:

16 oz 99% lean ground turkey
1 small egg
1/4 cup seasoned breadcrumbs
1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese

1 tbsp fresh chopped basil

Directions:
In pot over medium heat, bring chicken broth, water, 1 clove crushed garlic, 2 tbsp chopped parsley, 1/4 of the chopped onion, tomato sauce, crushed red pepper flakes and fresh black pepper to a boil; simmer about 5 minutes.

Meanwhile, make the meatballs by combining ground turkey, Parmesan cheese, egg, remaining garlic, remaining onion, remaining parsley, breadcrumbs, salt and pepper. Make into little 1 inch meatballs

Drop meatballs into the broth, cook about 3 minutes; add pasta and cook according to package directions. Add fresh basil, adjust salt and pepper to taste and serve with grated Parmesan cheese.

Brown Sugar Salmon : 5PP for 4oz.  My husband and I REALLY enjoyed this. Not often do we get Salmon since its expensive but we splurged on it and it was totally worth every penny. This may be my new favorite salmon recipe

Ingredients

4 4oz. salmon fillets, skinless
2 tbsp. brown sugar
1/2 tsp. kosher or course salt
1/2 tsp. black pepper
Optional: 1/2 tsp. rosemary, thyme, or other spice

Instructions

Preheat broiler.

Stir together the brown sugar, salt, pepper, and spice if you are using it. Press the sugar/salt mixture onto the top of the salmon.

Place on a baking sheet covered with foil and sprayed with cooking spray. Broil for 5-7 minutes. For thicker fish (over 1 inch), flip over and cook for an additional 2-3 minutes until flaky.
Easy Skillet Lasagna: 7 PP. I’ve never been a huge fan of lasagna the way my parents made it but its always been my husbands favorite meal so I figured I would try one without meat. I got the husbands approval and I approve of it myself.

Ingredients
1-½ Tablespoon Extra Virgin Olive Oil
1 whole Large Onion (I use yellow or red)
2 cloves Garlic, Minced
1 cup Mushrooms (I use fresh or you can use canned)
28 ounces, weight Diced Italian Tomatoes, Drained
¼ cups Tomato Sauce
3 whole Basil Leaves, Chopped
1 teaspoon Sea Salt
¼ teaspoons Black Pepper
6 ounces, weight Lasagna Noodles, Broken Into Thirds And Cooked
½ cups Low Fat Ricotta Cheese
½ cups Low Fat Shredded Mozzarella
3 Tablespoons Parmesan Cheese
2 Tablespoons Parsley

Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onions and cook until softened, about 4 minutes. Add garlic and mushrooms and cook until garlic is fragrant, about 1 minute. Add in diced tomatoes, tomato sauce, basil, salt and pepper. Cook mixture until it thickens up a bit, around 5 minutes.

Add noodles to skillet and stir into the mixture well. Add scoops of ricotta cheese over the noodles. Add in mozzarella and Parmesan. Stir in parsley.

Cook about 2 more minutes, or until mixture is thick. Serve immediately with additional basil or parsley.

 

3 thoughts on “Monthly Update Month 2

Leave a Reply

